Islands of Puerto Rico

Spread the love

Puerto Rico is an archipelago consisting of around 143 islands, cays, and islets. Puerto is the principal island of the islands of Puerto Rico, just like Hawaii is the primary island of the islands of Hawaii. The largest islands consisting of Puerto Rico are Vieques, and Culebra, along with the islet of Old San Juan, which are the only ones inhabited. The offshore islands, cays, and islets are all very distinct, offering tourists the more natural side of Puerto Rico and possibly the last true “virgin islands” experience in the Caribbean.