Puerto Rico

Spread the love

Puerto Rico is a Caribbean island and unincorporated territory of the United States approximately 1,000 miles southeast of Miami, Florida. Puerto Rico was colonized by Spain following the arrival of Christopher Columbus in 1493 and remained a Spanish territory for the next four centuries. By the late 19th century, a distinctly Puerto Rican identity began to emerge, centered around a fusion of indigenous, African, and European elements. In 1898, following the Spanish–American War, the United States acquired Puerto Rico. The island is home to the Bacardi rum factory, the largest rum distillery in the world located in San Juan. Tourism is a major part of the economy with roughly five million people visiting the city of San Juan every year.