The Desert

Spread the love

Did you know that many of Peru’s major cities lie in the country’s desert and that includes Lima? The National Geographic Society splits the coastline of Peru into two deserts: the Sechura Desert from the northern border to the inland city of Nazca and from there the Atacama Desert which connects it to the Northern border of Chile. Arequipa lies at the core of the Andes Mountains and the Atacama Desert in Southern Peru. Arequipa is also known as the “White City” and it’s surrounded by beautiful hot springs and the deepest desert canyon on Earth, the Colca Canyon.